Selected New Book Titles for JULY

Click on the book title (not the cover image) to view the online book catalog record.
Scroll down for the newest arrivals in The Americas Collection. Purchased at the Feria Internacional de Libro de Guadalajara, these books are originially published in Spanish, written by Latin American authors, and published in Latin American countries.
The city kid & the suburb kid - Deb Pilutti
Two cousins, one from the city and one from the suburbs, spend a day and a night together at each other’s house, and decide that each likes his own home better.
Who’s haunting the White House? : the president’s mansion and the ghosts who live there - Jeff Belanger
From a ghostly British Redcoat soldier standing guard on the front lawn to the spirit of Abigail Adams hanging laundry inthe East Room, there are many chilling tales told about the haunted White House.
The surrender tree : poems of Cuba’s struggle for freedom - Margarita Engle
Cuba has fought three wars for independence, and still she is not free. This history in verse creates a lyrical portrait of Cuba.
The maze of bones - Rick Riordan
What would happen if you discovered that your family was one of the most powerful in human history? What if you were told that the source of the family’s power was hidden around the world, in the form of 39 clues? What if you were given a choice - take a million dollars and walk away ... or get the first clue? If you’re Amy and Dan Cahill, you take the clue - and begin a very dangerous race.
Higher learning, greater good: the private and social benefits of higher education - McMahon, Walter W.
What is the problem?--Challenges facing higher education policy--Higher education and economic growth : jobs, earnings, and the skill deficit--Private non-market benefits of higher education and market failure--Social benefits of higher education and their policy implications--University research : social benefits and policy--New higher education policies--New strategies for financing higher education.
Selected New Books in The Americas Collection
The NLU Library's The Americas Collection is a collection of bilingual, Spanish and Latino themed childrens and young adult books. This collection has been developed in conjunction with the Center for Teaching through Children's Books and is housed at the Lisle Campus Library.
Through a grant from the American Library Association Free Pass Program, Ruth Quiroa, Assistant Professor, Reading & Language Center, NCE, and Barbara Evans, Librarian, Lisle Campus Library, attended the Feria Internacional de Libro de Guadalajara in November 2008, an impressive international book fair, and purchased enough books to double the size of this collection to approximately 700 items. The criteria for the books purchased were: originally published in Spanish; written by Latin American authors and, for the most part, published in Latin American countries.
Below are the first of these books to arrive. Click on the title (not the cover image) to view the online catalog record.
Canciones para llamar al sueño - Antonio Granados
Series: Americas collection (Mexico)
El amor y otras materias : dos comedias y un drama : teatro para jóvenes - Triunfo Arciniegas ; ilustraciones de Rafael Yockteng
El amor y otras materias -- Caballero sin caballo -- El paso del Ángel.
El gran viaje de señor caca - Angéle Delaunois, Marie Lafrance
Series: Americas collection (Venezuela).
El papalote y el nopal - Aline Pettersson
Series: Americas collection (Mexico)
El zopilote y la chirimía - Gabriela Olmos ; ilustraciones de Valeria Gallo
Series: Americas collection (Mexico)
Huevos rancheros - Stefan Czernecki ; versión en español de Verónica Murguía
Series: Americas collection (Mexico)
La autopista del sur - Julio Cortázar
An engineer finds love and friendship when he gets caught in a traffic jam that lasts for days, then weeks, then months. Series: Americas Collection (Columbia)
La casa del caracol : poesía coral - Luz María Chapela ; ilustraciones, Rodrigo Vargas
Este libro ilustrado para niños contiene 6 poemas sobre el amanecer, la lluvia, las flautas y animales como caracoles, mariposas, venados y vacas.
This illustrated book for children contains 6 poems about the dawn, rain, flutes and animals like snails, butterflies, deer and cows. Series: Americas collection (Mexico)
La tortuga sabia y el mono entrometido - Ana Maria Machado
Series: Americas collection (Columbia)
Los siete mejores cuentos centroamericanos - Laura Sánchez y David Arias Marín
Offers a selection of native folklore from Honduras, Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua, and Panama that combine the mundane and the supernatural to give children the opportunity for moral questioning. Series: Americas collection (Columbia)
Medio cielo - Alberto Blanco
A collection of abstract and surreal poetry written by Alberto Blanco. Series: Americas Collection (Mexico)
Mi monstruo Mandarino - Verónica Murguí
Series: Americas collection (Mexico)
Pintores Mexicanos de la A a la Z - Gabriela Olmos
Series: Americas collection (Mexico)
Quiúbole con-- tu cuerpo, el ligue, tu imagen, el sexo, las drogas y todo lo demás : un libro para niñas, chavas, chicas o como quieras llamarles - Gaby Vargas & Yordi Rosado
Series: Americas collection (Mexico)
Un pajarillo canta - versos de Ricardo Yáñez ; selección e ilustración de Carlos Pellicer López
Series: Americas collection (Mexico)
Yanka, yanka - Francisco Hinojosa
Series: Americas collection (Mexico)
Zoología poética : antología de poemas - Gabriela Olmos
Poems about different animals, from sweet to ferocious. Series: Americas collection (Mexico)
Suggestions
Suggestions for new book & video titles are always welcome!
Please send suggestions to Jerry Dachs, jdachs@nl.edu.
New in the Catalog
- New Resources @ NLU Click on the link above, then click SEARCH to retrieve all new resources in the NLU Online Catalog.
Subscribe to New @ NLU
Subscribe to the New Resources RSS feed to always know what's new in the catalog!

Loading RSS Feed...
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait