This is the "Requesting Articles" page of the "Full Text Electronic Journals" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Full Text Electronic Journals 

Searching for an online journal? Trying to find out which journals are available full text? This libguide gives you access to select online journals and shows you how to find full text journals through your NLU Library.
Last update: Jul 7th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.nl.edu/electronicjournals  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Requesting Articles            Print/Mobile Page
  

Get Full Text Articles

Use ILLiad to request a full-text journal article not found in the library's databases.

NOTE: First time users must create an account before requesting materials--just click on the "First Time User" link.

  • ILLiad
    Electronic delivery and tracking of all your journal article requests. May also be used to request and track books and other materials.
 

Forgot your ILLiad Password?

In the event that you forget your password, you can click on the "If you have forgotten your password" link on the ILLiad Logon screen.  An email will be sent to your email address with a link for you to change your password.

You may also contact the Interlibrary Loan Office at (800) 443-5522 x 2616. We can then reset your password allowing you access to ILLiad. Please change your password once you logon to ILLiad.

 

QUESTIONS?

Questions about using ILLiad? System problems? Other InterLibrary Loan Questions?

Contact the InterLibrary Loan Office: 800.443.5522, x2616 or sdoman@nl.edu

 
 

Instructions for Requesting Sources through ILLiad

Use ILLiad to request full text journal articles not found in the library's databases or books not found in the NLU Online Book Catalog or the I-Share catalog. ILLiad provides electronic delivery of articles (note that books will not be delivered electronically) as well as article requests from NLU Library Print Journals in PDF format. You will be able to view the articles by logging onto your account and clicking on the Electronically Received Articles Link.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR REQUESTING SOURCES THROUGH ILLiad

1. You can request a full text journal article not found in the library’s databases through ILLiad, the electronic delivery and tracking system used by the interlibrary loan office.

2. Go to the ILLiad Logon page at: http://nlu.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/logon.html

3. First time users will need to create an account before requesting materials. Click on the blue “Click here if you are a First Time User” link and follow the directions for creating an account, which includes completing the New User Registration for ILLiad form.


4. To request an article or other material, click on the links under New Request in the left sidebar.


5. Enter the information on the request form, including the citation for the resource you would like to request into the form. Then click “Submit Request” at the buttom of the page.


6. You will receive an email notification when the article has been delivered and is available for viewing.

7. To view the article, go to ILLiad, login to your account, and click on “Electronically Received Articles” under View in the left sidebar.

 

ILLiad Frequently Asked Questions

What is ILLiad?

ILLiad is an electronic system you use to request an item through the NLU Library's Interlibrary Loan Office. In fact, the name ILLiad is an acronym for InterLibrary Loan internet accessible database.

To get started using ILLiad, you must register for an account on the ILLiad Logon page. Then click on the First Time User link and complete the registration form. Once you have registered you will be able to request materials.

What is electronic document delivery?

Many libraries ship photocopies of articles to us in electronic format. In the past we printed these articles before delivering them to you. Now, through ILLiad, we are able to provide electronic delivery of these articles as well as article requests from NLU Library Print Journals in PDF format (Adobe's Portable Document Format). You will be able to view the articles by logging onto your account and clicking on the Electronically Received Articles Link. You will receive an email notification when articles have been delivered and are available to view on your account.

Can I request books through ILLiad?

You can request books through ILLiad if a book is not available at one of our NLU Library Campuses or through the NLU Book Catalog, the I-Share Catalog, NetLibrary, and Ebrary. Books requested through ILLiad will not be delivered electronically. Please be certain to check all the NLU online book catalogs before making a book request through ILLiad.

How is ILLiad better than traditional ILL systems?

  1. You will find it easier to submit your interlibrary loan article and book requests. With ILLiad, you enter your name, address, and other personal information into the system only once, at the time of your first request.
  2. Your request will be handled more rapidly and accurately as problems relating to misinterpretation of hand-written requests are eliminated.
  3. You can get many of your article requests more quickly through Electronic Delivery.
  4. You can get information about the status of your request through the Web at any time from any location without having to call the ILL Department.
  5. Library personnel are able to serve you better because all data about your request and its handling is stored in a searchable database. We are able to respond quickly to your inquiries about your request. We are also able to gather statistical information about the performance of the libraries that lend to us, enabling us to make better decisions when choosing a lender to supply an item.

Are there any disadvantages to the electronic system?

Some people might find it troublesome to have to log into ILLiad using a username and password. However, ILLiad is an improvement over our previous system, which required you to enter your personal information with each new request.

Who do I contact if I have problems with or question about ILLiad?

System problems or InterLibrary Loan questions can be directed to the InterLibrary Loan office at (800) 443-5522 x2616 or e-mail to sdoman@nl.edu

Why do I need a username and password to use ILLiad?

Your username and password allows us to give you secure access to information about your interlibrary loan requests. It also allows you to edit your personal information such as your address or phone number.

Your username and password can be anything you like, such as your name, abbreviations, or an alphanumeric code. You can use your NLU portal username and password to create an account but we recommend that you follow good security practice and choose a password that is different from those you use to access other systems. However, no one but you will know your password, not even the library staff. The password you set is stored in an encrypted file.

What if I forget my password?

In the event that you forget your password, you can click on the "If you have forgotten your password" link on the ILLiad Logon screen.  An email will be sent to your email address with a link for you to change your password.

You may also contact the Interlibrary Loan Office at (800) 443-5522 x 2616. We can then reset your password allowing you access to ILLiad. Please change your password once you logon to ILLiad.

What Web browser should I use?

We recommend the current versions of either Mozilla Firefox or Microsoft Internet Explorer. Please contact the InterLibrary Loan office at (800) 443-5522 x 2616 or e-mail to sdoman@nl.edu if you have any problems using ILLiad with your Web browser.

Can I use ILLiad on campus computers and at other locations?

Yes. With the ILLiad logon link and your username and password you can access your ILLiad account from any computer. For security reasons please logoff ILLiad and exit from the Web browser before you leave the workstation.

Why don't I see all my older requests when I look at my request history?

From time to time we purge older records from ILLiad. Our policy is to keep requests online for several years order to comply with record keeping requirements of the copyright law.

 

 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait