ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. Access to the ERIC database is provided free to the public through the ERIC Web site. Click on the link below.
ERIC through EBSCO
In addition to free access through the ERIC Web site, you can also search ERIC through the EBSCOHost interface available through the NLU Library. Click on the link below to access. A ppt tutorial is also available to help you search using this interface.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
ERIC is an online digital library of education research and information. Materials in ERIC come from many well-regarded sources: scholarly organizations, professional associations, commercial publishers, research centers, policy organizations, state and federal agencies, university presses, and individual researchers. If available, links to full text are included.
Within the ERIC Collection, you will find records for:
- journal articles
- research syntheses
- conference papers
- technical reports
- policy papers
- other education-related materials
Journals in ERIC
ERIC indexes education journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed. Journal records typically include bibliographic data (author, title, date, journal citation, publisher) and an abstract, or short description of the work. A small number of journal publishers also make the full text of an article available at no cost directly through this Web site. The majority of journal articles need to be obtained through library print and electronic holdings or directly from the publisher.
NOTE: For full text articles not available in ERIC, you can also look to see if the article is available in other NLU journal article databases, or you can request the full text of the article through ILLiad, the library's electronic request and document view system. Click on the Full Text not available in ERIC tab above for more information.
Other Materials in ERIC
In addition to the journal literature, ERIC indexes education-related materials from scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, and state and local agencies. Individual contributors submit conference papers, research papers, dissertations, and theses.
Identifying and providing full-text access to this "grey literature" or "fugitive literature" is one of ERIC's signature strengths. Grey literature provides searchers with a wide variety of important information about education. Diverse in format, it ranges from informational materials to very substantive, rigorously researched and reviewed documents, including research syntheses, conference papers, and policy reports.