This is the "ebrary" page of the "Electronic Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Electronic Books  Tags: electronic_books ebooks netlibrary ebrary  

Last update: Jul 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.nl.edu/ebooks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

ebrary             Print Page
  

What is ebrary?

eBrary is an online collection of 25,000+ authoritative and copyrighted books that provides access to the full-text of publications online at anytime.  Through ebrary, you can browse and view documents, conduct full-text searches, highlight passages, make notes in the text, and more!  Titles cover many different subject areas, from Social Sciences, Law, Medicine, Science, and Computing to Education, Fine Arts, and History. 

Help & Support

NOTE: ebrary has launched a new interface! For more detailed information and help, consult the ebrary Help Guide.

 
 

Getting Started

ACCESSING EBRARY

OR

NOTE: If you are off-campus, you must first login to My NLU Portal or toBlackBoard to access the library's electronic books catalogs.


IMPORTANT NOTICE:
EBRARY HAS A NEW & IMPROVED INTERFACE!!!

Now you can view and navigate through documents with ebrary's QuickView! However, in order to highlight text, make notes, and copy and/or print text, you will still need to download the ebrary Reader and create a free account.

 

GETTING STARTED - Note: screen shots are provided; these are not live links.

The ebrary homepage includes tabs across the top of the window to make it easy to search and view the collection.

ebrary Tabs

  • Info provides information specific to your library system.

  • Search provides tools for searching as well as a history of your searches for the current session.

  • QuickView allows you to quickly examine a document.

  • Bookshelf stores documents that you have selected for future use and enables you to organize the information that you have found.

 

USING EBRARY

  • Search -- Type in your search term in the simple search box on the ebrary homepage. Then click "Search ebrary." 
    • On the results screen, you may also narrow your results by selecting additional subject headings.

  • View -- To view the book in QuickView, simply click on the book cover.

  • Navigate -- use the QuickView toolbar to go directly to every occurance of your search term, flip through pages, or magnify pages. You can also jump to specific chapters using the Contents tab. NOTE: You cannot print or copy pages, highlight text, save notes, or access the ebrary InfoTools with QuickView. You must download the ebrary Reader to use these functions.

 

 

Adapted from ebrary Help & Support Materials.lkg. 012009

 

Creating an Account

CREATING AN ACCOUNT

By creating an ebrary account, you can

  • Save documents, notes, and highlights to your personal bookshelf (only with the ebrary Reader)
  • Add books to your bookshelf to save for future use
  • Create folders to organize your research

NOTE: You do not need to download the ebrary Reader in order to create an ebrary Personal Bookshelf. However, in order to view highlight, create notes, copy, or print pages, you will need to download the ebrary Reader.

To create your ebrary account:

  1. Click on the "Sign In" button in the upper right corner.
  2. On the Sign In page, click on Create my user account.
  3. Complete the form and then click on Create My Account.

Adapted from ebrary Help & Support Materials.lkg. 012009

 

Your Personal Bookshelf

If you have an ebrary account, you can store documents that you are interested in on your personal bookshelf that only you can view. The bookshelf is your workspace where can organize your research. You can also create folders to organize your documents and annotations. ebrary helps you keep track of which folders your work is in and which items are not categorized.

NOTE: You must first create an account to use the ebrary Bookshelf. See the box above for more details.

ADDING BOOKS TO YOUR BOOKSHELF FROM THE QUICKVIEW

1. Conduct a search

2. Select a book that would like to save by clicking on the cover image or title.The QuickView will provide access to the full text of the book.

3. To save the book to your bookshelf, click on Notes tab next to the Table of Contents tab on the right side of the screen.

4. Then click on the Add to My Bookshelf link underneath the search box.

 

 

 

 

 

VIEWING YOUR BOOKSHELF & CREATING FOLDERS

1. To view the books on your bookshelf, click on the Bookshelf tab near the top left of the screen.

2.Your folders will be listed on the left side of the screen. The contents of the folders will be listed on the right side of the screen. To add a new folder, click on the Add Folder link on the left. To place books in folders, simply drag your books from the right side to a folder on the left.

Adapted from ebrary Help & Support Materials.lkg. 012009

 

ebrary Reader

THE EBRARY READER - you must download the ebrary Reader to select, copy, or print pages.

When you print or paste copied text, a bibliographic citation of the source material with a link to the page in the document where the information was obtained is included.

To select text

1. To select a single word, click the word. The selected word, along with any surrounding punctuation, is highlighted.

Note: You cannot select part of a word.

2. To select more than one word, click and drag to highlight your selection.

To copy text

1. Select the text you want to copy.

2. Click the Copy Text button on the toolbar, or use the keys on your keyboard.

3. Paste the text in a file or email message.

To copy a bookmark of a page

1. Go to the page that you want to bookmark.

2. Select InfoTools > Copy Bookmark. This copes the URL of the page.

3. Paste the URL in a file or email message.

To print pages

Note: The number of pages you can print is set by each publisher.

Each printed page includes a bibliographic citation.

1. Click the Print button on the toolbar.

2. Specify the pages to print.

3. Choose whether you want to optimize the printing for quality or speed.

4. Click Page Setup if you want to change the print settings.

5. Choose a printer, and then click OK.

 

INFOTOOLS

InfoTools is a key feature of the ebrary Reader that enables you to expand your research. Use InfoTools to look up, explain, or translate words you don't know; to search the book or the rest of the ebrary collection for a particular word or phrase in the text; and much more! NOTE: You will need to download the ebrary Reader to use InfoTools.

 

*For additional information, including how to download the ebrary Reader and use the ebrary InfoTools, view the ebrary Help & Support.

Adapted from ebrary Help & Support Materials.lkg. 012009

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait