- ABI Inform (ProQuest)
Full text articles in business journals and newspapers.
Includes access to the Wall Street Journal.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Multidisciplinary database containing full text articles and article citations. Includes broad information on a variety of topics.
- AgeLine (EBSCOhost)
Produced by AARP. Information focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging.
- AHFS Consumer Medication Information (EBSCOhost)
Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in language for consumers to understand.
- Alexander Street Press Streaming Video Collections
Search one place for videos in the follow Alexander Street Press Collections: American, History in Video, Black Studies in Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video volumes 1 through 3, Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Current Affairs in Video, Education in Video volumes 1 and 2, Ethnographic Video Online volume 1, Health and Society in Video, International Business Online, and Psychological Experiments Online.
- American History in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Streaming videos on the topic of American History.
- ArticleFirst (OCLC)
Index of articles from the contents pages of select journals.
- Black Studies in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.
- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books from Project Muse
One of the nation's leading children's book review journals for school and public librarians.
- Business Source Elite (EBSCOhost)
Business related publications.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Business related publications.
- CARLI Digital Collections
Digital content of CARLI member libraries. Includes NLU's Elizabeth Harrison Chicago Kindergarten Collection and the Saskia Digital Image Archive (paintings, sculptures, and more). The items in the Sanborn Maps of Illinois, 1867-1970 and the Saskia Art Images collections are available only to CARLI member institutions. All other collections may be viewed by anyone with an Internet connection and web browser.
- Children's Core Collection (EBSCOhost)
Professional literature for the children's librarian. Covers fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, picture books and magazines recommended for readers in preschool through sixth grade.
- Choice Reviews Online
"The premier source for reviews of academic books and digital resources of interest to scholars and students in higher education." (About Choice).
Available on campus only.
- Chronicle of Higher Education
Weekly news and job-information source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students.
- ClasePeriodica (OCLC)
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume I (Alexander Street Press)
Classic collection of videos filmed between 1985 and 2010. This collection provides a through grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume II (Alexander Street Press)
expands on the content of the first volume with a special emphasis on contemporary topics, featuring world-renowned therapists demonstrating their methods and techniques, state of the art as of 2005 or later. The collection also includes documentaries providing insight into the human condition and training in skills such as reflection and empathy.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume III (Alexander Street Press)
Expands on the previous collections with a focus on new and emerging areas (such as cyberbullying, mindfulness, and social media) and the current therapy environment (such as veterans, eating disorders, and autism).
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Citations and full text articles from the essential journals related to criminal justice and criminology.
- Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Videos that illustrate the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals serving on the front lines of justice and public safety. From law enforcement and corrections personnel, to first responders and victims’ advocates, this compilation of documentaries, training videos, and interviews visually depicts the theoretical principles and practical application of criminal justice and emergency response.
- Current Affairs in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Collection of issue-based documentaries from around the world. Covering Immigration and Border Studies, Middle East Studies, Urban Studies, Political Science, Globalization, and Human Rights, the films focus on the key issues and events of recent global history.
- Digital Commons @ NLU
A digital archive that preserves and provides access to the scholarship created by NLU's students and faculty. Access NLU student dissertations and i.e.: inquiry in education, a peer-reviewed open access online journal published by the Center for Practitioner Research at National Louis University.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
Directory of Open Access Journals. Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in all subjects and languages.
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
Electronic books in the fields of humanities and social sciences provided by the CARLI (Consortium of Academic Research Libraries in Illinois).
Access to full text e-books, reports and other authoritative titles.
- EBSCOhost - Search All EBSCOhost Databases Simultaneously
Searches the following EBSCOhost databases: Academic Search Complete, Academic Search Premier, AgeLine, Business Source Elite, Business Source Premier, Children's Core Collection (H.W. Wilson), Consumer Health Complete - EBSCOhost, Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, Education Research Complete, ERIC, Education Source, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, Health Source - Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, MAS Ultra - School Edition, MasterFILE Premier, Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print, Military & Government Collection, MLA Directory of Periodicals, MLA International Bibliography, Newspaper Source, Primary Search, Professional Development Collection, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, and Regional Business News.
- EBSCOhost Business & Management Databases
Searches the following EBSCOhost databases: Business Source Elite, Business Source Premier, Academic Search Complete, Newspaper Source, and Regional Business News.
- EBSCOhost eBooks Collection
Access to full text books on a variety of subjects through EBSCOHost.
- EBSCOhost Education Databases
Searches the following EBSCOhost databases: Academic Search Complete, Professional Development Collection, Education Research Complete, ERIC, and Education Source.
- EBSCOhost Health & Nursing Databases
Searches the following EBSCOhost databases: Academic Search Complete, AgeLine, Health Source - Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, PsycARTICLES, and PsycINFO.
- EBSCOhost Psychology Databases
Searches the following EBSCOhost databases: Academic Search Complete, PsycARTICLES, and PsycINFO
- Education in Video Volume I (Alexander Street Press)
Resources for both new and experienced teachers tools to increase their knowledge and skills and for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms.
- Education in Video Volume II (Alexander Street Press)
Streaming videos that cover contemporary subjects and emerging teaching approaches. Content expands upon topics covered in Volume I, and places an emphasis on special needs, English as a second language, and the US Common Core standards.
- Education Research Complete (EBSCOhost)
Education research - topics covered include all levels of education, and all educational specialties.
- Education Source (EBSCOhost)
Education research - topics covered include all levels of education, and all educational specialties.
- ERIC (.gov)
Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. Free journal articles and reports in education.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost)
Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. The EBSCOhost interface for ERIC links to free resources on the eric.ed.gov website and provides access to full text articles within EBSCOhost.
- Ethnographic Video Online: Volume I (Alexander Street Press)
Classic and contemporary documentaries of the visual study of human culture and behavior.
- Films on Demand
Streaming video database with over 6,000 videos on a variety of topics appropriate for academic research.
- Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia (EBSCOhost)
- Google Scholar
Google search tool that indexes a wide range of scholarly literature and links to full text where available in NLU subscription databases.
- GPO (OCLC)
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).
- Health and Society in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Defines and explores today’s latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society--with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost)
A collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
- Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition (EBSCOhost)
Scholarly full text articles on many different medical disciplines. This database includes the AHFS Consumer Medication Information.
- Hoovers Online (Mergent)
Information about industries, companies, and the people who lead them. Use to find information or news on publicly held companies. Search by company name, product name, stock ticker, or D-U-N-S number.
- Horn Book Guide Online
Book reviews on every hardcover trade book published in the United States for young people.
- International Business Online (Alexander Street Press)
A learning database that synthesizes for the first time online the world’s highest quality applied multimedia content for the study of international business.
- International Children's Digital Library
Open source online collection of books that represent outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world.
- Journal of Entrepreneurship, Management and Innovation
"JEMI is an interdisciplinary, double blind-reviewed journal, emphasizing theoretical and empirical articles in entrepreneurship, management, innovation and related fields." (Journal Description). Nowy Sacz School of Business, National-Louis University in Poland.
Digital archive of scholarly journals that cover a wide array of disciplines.
- Key of G - New Day Digital streaming video
"The Key Of G is an award-winning documentary about disability, caregiving and interdependence." New Day Digital is a cooperative run by filmmakers. New Day Digital specializes in documentaries about social issues. NLU has subscribed to the Key of G video from New Day Digital.
- Learning Ally
Learning Ally is a database of audiobooks for people with print disabilities.
For access to this resource contact Peter Ploegman at 800.443.5522 x.3188 or firstname.lastname@example.org
- LexisNexis Academic
Contains over 10,400 sources of information including legal news, company & industry information, news sources, public records, and much more.
- Longsdale ILTS Online Course & Practice Tests
This online course contains instruction and practice tests for the three areas of the Illinois Licensure Testing System (ILTS) Test of Academic Proficiency: Reading, Language Arts, and Mathematics.
Please contact Library & Learning Support to obtain the School Number and School Key needed in order to create an account.
800.443.5522 x3374 or email@example.com
- MAS Ultra - School Edition (EBSCOhost)
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines.
- Medline (OCLC)
All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCOhost)
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
- Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost)
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCOhost)
Detailed information about journals focusing on language, literature, folklore, and pedagogy.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)
Detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations on language, literature, folklore, and pedagogy.
- National Library of Medicine Gateway
Search simultaneously multiple resources from the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- NCTE - English Journal
Published by the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE), includes ideas for English language arts teachers in junior and senior high schools and middle schools, presents information on the teaching of writing and reading, literature, and language, etc.
- NCTE - Language Arts
Published by the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE), includes articles on all aspects of language arts learning and teaching, primarily as they relate to children in pre-kindergarten through the eighth grade.
- NCTE - Voices from the Middle
Published by the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE), includes articles on research and best practices in middle level reading, writing, speaking, and listening in the visual and language arts.
- Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost)
Collection of articles from national & international newspapers.
- NoveList K-8 (EBSCOhost)
Readers advisory resources that search fiction titles for all age groups and interests. (K-8)
- NoveList Plus (EBSCOhost)
Readers advisory resources that search fiction and nonfiction titles for all age groups and interests.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
This resource provides multiple perspectives on hot topics in a variety of subjects from business, law, society & culture, health and environmental issues.
- Oxford English Dictionary
The authoritative dictionary on the English language, OED provides the history, pronunciation and definition of over 600,000 words.
- Primary Search (EBSCOhost)
More than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research.
- Proceedings (OCLC)
Index of worldwide conference proceedings.
- Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost)
High quality education journals specifically geared toward education professionals.
- PsycARTICLES (EBSCOhost)
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) collection of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
- Psychological Experiments Online (Alexander Street Press)
A multimedia online resource that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries, fostering deeper levels of understanding for students and scholars alike. The collection pairs 75 hours of audio and video recordings of the original experiments (when existent) with 40,000 pages of primary-source documents.
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost)
American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
- RefWorks (ProQuest)
RefWorks will no longer be available through National Louis University after December 31, 2014. If you have an existing account with RefWorks you can transfer your citations to Zotero, a free citation management tool. See the Zotero Citation Manager Guide
for information on transferring your RefWorks references to Zotero.
- Regional Business News (EBSCOhost)
Comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications.
- Sage Journals
Full text electronic journals in a variety of subjects. To search NLU subscription journals only, go to the Advanced Search to search within "SAGE Journals available to me".
- Sanborn Insurance Maps of Illinois (CARLI)
Maps of various Illinois cities from 1867-1970.
To access the maps you will need to select National Louis University and enter your Library ID number when prompted.
Smarthinking is an online tutoring service, available to NLU community members by logging in to your Portal page: my.nl.edu
Access to full text books, journals, and other publications. Look for the green box next to the title, which indicates NLU has access. SpringerLink titles can also be found by searching the NLU catalog. For more information, go to the SpringerLink page
- Teachers College Record
The Teachers College Record is a journal that covers topics relevant to the education field.
Multi-media interviews with authors and illustrators, with audio excerpts of professional book readings, guides, and multimedia resources on children's and young adult literature.
Online collection of animated, talking children's picture books.
- Wiley Online Library
Citation information for scholarly articles on a variety of subjects.
Full text article access to the following journals: Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy, New Directions for Adult and Continuing Education, Reading Research Quarterly, Reading Teacher, TESOL Journal, , and TESOL Quarterly.
- WorldCat Dissertations
Index of dissertations and theses that are available to request in WorldCat.
- WorldCat Local
Search for books and articles with one search. Access full text articles, ebooks, and easily place requests for items with one easy search.